It Gets Better

Recently I came upon a couple of videos on YouTube that piqued my interest.  One is by somebody that I know but the others are by people who are famous like celebrities.  These videos are for anybody who is going through the hardships of being harassed because they are gay.  The videos may be made generally for that reason but their message can be applied to all people who go through hardships in their lives.  The following videos are of Jody Hirsh, John Quale (Prince Poppycock), Apple Employees, Google Employees, and Disney Employees.

The speaker in this video grew up in a time where being gay was not okay.  He speaks about not wanting to be gay.  If his secret would have gotten out during the period of Stonewall in the 1960s, he could have even lost his career.  Many choose to take their lives because they can’t deal with the bullying or pressure of being found out.  People like Jody should have existed back in the time period that he speaks of because it would have made everything a little better for everyone.

This video really meant a lot.  This guy went through a lot of the stuff that everyone else is going through today but he lived through it to tell his tale.  The one sad thing that he is talking about is all the suicides that are going on in America and around the world.  The bullying needs to be stopped so that these can end.  Gay youth and any youth in general should not feel like they are hated by everyone just because they’re different.

This one was really sad.  I could barely make it through because of the fact that the one man thought that he should end his life.  All of these people are from young to old and they had to deal with the oppression.  It’s just horrible that they felt that they’d be free from everything if they took their life.

This video is rather upsetting.  These people didn’t just picked on because of their sexuality, they were also teased based solely on being geeky while others were not able to express their gender identity.

I’m pretty sure that Disney is one of the best makers of these videos.  They play the right music at the perfect times.  Some of these people didn’t just go through mental and verbal abuse, they were subjected to physical abuse.  This kind of stuff needs to be stopped.  The behavior of the bullies is what isn’t normal.

All of these videos have the same message, “It gets better”.  Many adults and youth are oppressed every day and tend to have horrible lives because of their sexuality.  These videos aren’t just for GLBT people, it is also for anyone who has felt oppressed over the years and just wants to end it.  I was one of the people who was teased in school.  I was overweight, had long hair, and large man breasts.  People teased me mercilessly because I was different.  My friends started to kind of abandon me and tease me while other people would do the same.  I know what it is like to be different.

For more stories and information about the Trevor Project, please click here.

If you have any stories about being bullied, please feel free to share them in the comment box below.  All comments are moderated so there shouldn’t be any harassment that slips through and if there is, I will block that person from commenting or delete their comment.

  1. I recognize there exists a lot of spam on this weblog. Do you want support cleansing them up? I could support amongst courses! 599305

    • There tends to be a lot of comments caught in the spam filter. Askimet does a great job of catching real spam comments, I am pretty sure that I am fine with the arrangement that I have with wordpress already. Thank you though.

  2. Sweet web site, super style and style , actually clean and use friendly . 209079

  3. Wow, incredible weblog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging appear straightforward. The overall appear of your web site is excellent, as properly as the content material! xrumer 78360

  4. Hey mate, .This was an excellent post for such a hard subject to talk about. I look forward to seeing many more excellent posts like this one. Thanks 532414

  5. Im agitated all these article directories. It sure would be nice to have every article directory that instantly accepts articles. 442907

    • Please explain what you mean by this. I’m not exactly sure what you are trying to say.

  6. some truly fascinating information , properly written and broadly speaking user genial . 109893

  7. Greetings! Quick question thats completely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My weblog looks weird when viewing from my iphone. Im trying to find a template or plugin that might be able to fix this problem. If you have any recommendations, please share. Appreciate it! 390838

    • I’ll find the setting for the mobile website. I thought that it was already on but I will look into it.

  8. I appreciate you taking the time to talk about them with people. 575507

  9. I added this article to my favorites and plan to return to digest more soon. Its easy to read and understand as well as intelligent. I truly enjoyed my first read through of this article. 214021

  10. Perfectly indited content material , thanks for selective details . 932836

  11. I like this web blog very much so much superb info . 478363

  12. Hey! Do you know if they make any plugins to protect against hackers? Im kinda paranoid about losing everything Ive worked hard on. Any recommendations? 80125

    • If you’re talking about a wordpress.com website and need to protect your blog, this article may help. http://withoutalabel.me/2012/04/06/best-wordpress-plugins-to-protect-against-hackers/

  13. You must join in a tournament 1st with the greatest blogs on the internet. I will recommend this internet internet site! 484265

  14. Real instructive and wonderful anatomical structure of articles , now thats user pleasant (:. 352757

  15. I consider something genuinely particular in this internet site. 331932

  16. You ought to get involved in a contest very first with the greatest blogs more than the internet. Ill recommend this page! 833948

  17. Glad to be 1 of several visitants on this awful site : D. 922746

    • Interesting comment lol. I don’t get a lot of people saying that it is awful though.

  18. Glad to be one of the visitors on this awe inspiring web site : D. 625710

  19. Thanks for the blog loaded with so many information. Stopping by your blog helped me to get what I was looking for. 104507

  20. The next time Someone said a weblog, I hope that it doesnt disappoint me just as considerably as this. Come on, man, I know it was my choice to read, but When i thought youd have some thing intriguing to say. All I hear is genuinely a handful of whining about something you can fix inside the event you werent too busy looking for attention. 775526

    • Thank you for reading my blog. You’re entitled to your opinion of my articles as much as the next person but there doesn’t seem to be much backing of your claim by support of any of the other people commenting who have read this. Hopefully I will be able to satisfy your need for something that excites you at another time.

  21. Oh my goodness! an incredible post dude. Thank you Nonetheless Im experiencing challenge with ur rss . Don know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anyone acquiring related rss drawback? Anybody who knows kindly respond. Thnkx 117459

    • paper shredding companies
    • July 19th, 2012

    I consider something truly fascinating about your web site so I saved to fav. 496306

    • go
    • July 20th, 2012

    I like this post a good deal. I will surely be back. Hope that I is going to be able to read far more insightful posts then. Will probably be sharing your expertise with all of my associates! 893255

  22. I take excellent pleasure in reading articles with quality content material. This write-up is 1 such writing that I can appreciate. Maintain up the excellent function. 576727

  23. wohh precisely what I was seeking for, thankyou for putting up. 514781

  24. Oh my goodness! a wonderful post dude. Thanks Nevertheless My business is experiencing problem with ur rss . Dont know why Not able to sign up for it. Possibly there is any person obtaining identical rss difficulty? Anyone who knows kindly respond. Thnkx 113241

  25. Some truly amazing content material on this internet internet site , thankyou for contribution. 861426

  26. Aw, i thought this was an really very good post. In notion I would like to invest writing in this way moreover – taking time and actual effort to manufacture a quite very good article but exactly what do I say I procrastinate alot and no indicates apparently go completed. 374774

  27. Spot on with this write-up, I need to say i believe this superb site needs significantly a lot more consideration. Ill probably be once once more to learn a fantastic deal a lot more, several thanks that details. 103717

  1. July 6th, 2012
    Trackback from : My Homepage
  2. July 9th, 2012
    Trackback from : Chico busca chica
  3. July 10th, 2012
    Trackback from : hoe win ik mijn ex terug
  4. July 10th, 2012
    Trackback from : read more
  5. July 10th, 2012
    Trackback from : family dentists
  6. July 10th, 2012
  7. July 10th, 2012
    Trackback from : website
  8. July 10th, 2012
    Trackback from : article
  9. July 10th, 2012
    Trackback from : raspberry ketones review
  10. July 10th, 2012
    Trackback from : George Stephenson
  11. July 10th, 2012
    Trackback from : website
  12. July 10th, 2012
    Trackback from : conocí a esta chica

Leave a Reply

